Pushing Limits

When I was 11 years old, I had an opportunity to live in another country for half a year with a family I had never met, who spoke a language I didn’t know. I decided to take that opportunity despite doubts that I could not do it.  My older sister Ana had gotten back from her exchange to Germany a few years before and her bravery inspired me to do the same. I lived in Burgos, Spain for six months, missing most of the fifth grade. I lived there with a girl my age named Alicia and her family. I had no one in my family there with me, so I couldn’t use English at all. I went to a public school with Alicia and did everything just as she did, so technically I was living just like a Spanish girl.  I also ran cross country and played volleyball which was difficult because of the language barrier.  

After spending those six months totally immersing myself in the language and culture, I could speak fluent Spanish even though the only word I knew before the exchange was “hola.” I also have many memories of my host family and all the unique experiences I had in Burgos. Instead of Christmas, we celebrated Los Reyes Magos (The Three Kings.) Instead of Halloween, we went to the cemetery on November 1st to honor passed loved ones. On New Year’s Eve, we ate twelve green grapes counting down with bells until midnight. We also stayed up until midnight every night because that is an early bedtime in Spain! Another way my eyes were opened was that Burgos is one of the most politically conservative cities in Spain which is very different from my home here in liberal Northern California. I am glad I got to see that not everyone in the world is as left as we are here. I could never give up these memories because they were such eye-opening experiences which taught me that the way I’m used to things being isn’t the only way.   

My mom is Mexican-American and she has always regretted the fact that she never learned to speak Spanish. Now she goes to lessons, and I can tell how proud she is for me to continue Spanish speaking in our family line. Another plus is that I can communicate with so many more people in my community because there are many Spanish speakers that I am now aware of. My mom was inspired to go to Spain with me this past summer for three weeks. We went to Spanish school in Madrid. I took private lessons while she was in a beginner class.  We went touring, made friends, and had fun staying up late in the city. I loved going on the trip to reconnect with a place that has influenced me: Spain, my second home.

 

http://www.enfamille.com/http://www.spain.info/en_US/que-quieres/ciudades-pueblos/otros-destinos/burgos.htmlhttps://www.whychristmas.com/story/wisemen.shtml

1 thought on “Pushing Limits

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *